Love thyself, pt. 1 – Move thyself.

OH EM GEE you should totally work out, it helps with stress and helps you feel better and lose weight and blah blah blah

If any of you know me in person, you know I HATE cardio workouts. I feel like my entire body is jiggling in unattractive ways. Like running…I don’t care how long I go, I never hit that “runners high” that I always hear about. I’m too concerned about my belly and boobs and thighs flopping all over the place. I see these lithe runners, ponytails bopping up and down, smiles on their faces with that “glowing healthy sweat” and I’m like HOW THE HELL DO YOU DO THAT. I chalk it up to good genes.

I do love working out with weights. I just want to go in a gym and make my way through the weight lifting machines and then go home. I used to work out at the YMCA in Kenner and I loved when I could add more weight to my machines. I’ve had a few people suggest Crossfit to me and I’ve seen enough of it where I know I am not that hardcore.

I also love yoga. There were more than a few times that I would go to the Y early, work with weights, then do a yoga class. Tell me that an hour of weight-lifting and then another hour of contorting and stretching your body into assorted positions isn’t burning as many calories as an hour of aerobics. I dare you. I will tell you you are a liar, because when I leave a place soaked and every muscle feeling like a limp wet noodle, I must have burned SOME GODDAMN CALORIES.

So it’s kind of odd that one of the things that Doug and I decided to invest in recently is a recumbent exercise bike.

With me being diabetic, I know that some sort of movement will help control my blood sugar. Honestly, that’s the big thing with me – I want to make sure my sugar is kept under control. Weight loss, fine, but keeping my pancreas from killing me is more my focus. So when Doug suggested we get a bike and use it, I was all for it. Even though it’s freaking cardio. Ugh.

For the past week, I’ve been working out on it for 30 minutes a day at the lowest setting. Yeah, I’m not burning as many calories, but I am working on increasing the resistance level a little at a time. Now before you start giving me the whole “BUT DOCTORS SAY YOU NEED AN HOUR OF EXERCISE EVERY DAY” crap, know this: I am going from a sedentary lifestyle to working out every day. Let me start at my own pace and figure out for my own damn self what I can and can’t do, okay?


Thanks, David Tennant.

Even though this week I have felt really low, I am pushing myself to keep moving since I know it will be better for me in the long run. I have figured out that an episode of Welcome to Night Vale is the perfect length to work out to, since they are around 30 minutes long, so I can listen to my favorite podcast while I’m working out. It helps take my mind off of the monotony of the workout and keeps me from watching the clock and going OH GOD WHAT DO YOU MEAN I’VE ONLY DONE 10 MINUTES UGHHHHHHHH. Also, I’ve found that since it’s a recumbent bike, it’s fairly easy to read while working out, too. I was hoping that I’d be able to work out while watching TV, but for some reason I can’t keep focused when I’m watching TV.

So here’s to movement. Let’s hope it really does help my stress in the long run.

2 thoughts on “Love thyself, pt. 1 – Move thyself.

  1. K, great blog.  I personally feel like crap when I don’t get my 40 minute walk in the morning.  it gets me revved up and feeling loose.  I’m so glad you’re finding some joy in movement as well!  here’s to our health!!!

    Like

  2. It will! Just move-don’t worry about what others think, you are doing it for you, not them! Bikes are great, recumbant or not. Keep going, don’t assess what anyone else is doing.

    Like

Comments are closed.